My Ordeal with Nimmo

4 07 2006

My grandmother came visiting me last week and spent the entire week with us. Being an 80 plus years old lady, she has little to do than to do her regular poojas and watch television. And when she watches TV, what better thing can she watch than the dreaded Kekta serials? Its not that she religiously follows these serials, its just that she doesn’t mind watching them and when she watches TV serials she invariably starts taking out flaws in them, just like me. Okay, not exactly like me but yeah definitely her reasonings are more interesting than mine.

So it was one fine night when mom called me to have dinner. 10pm and it was Nimmo time. As I saw the closing shots of Heartbeat on Star One, I began wondering whether to start flipping through the channels or not. I didn’t go for the remote and instead carried on eating my dinner. Moments later it was Nimmo on screen.

Ouch! Can somebody tell me if there is a worse looking actress on television? Yeah, I judged her by her looks and believe me, she didn’t fit the image of a typical Kekta heroine that I have seen in some of her other serials. This actress (what’s her name? Sanjeeda or something?) looks like a girl fresh out of college and taking up her first modelling assignment where she has been rejected. The freckled face doesn’t look good on screen.

Interestingly, when this Nimmo serial started, I thought that it must be some comedy show. Luckily for me, I had other things on my mind and forgot about it. Grandmother came and started watching this serial and it brought back those funny memories of Kekta serials. I have observed sertain characteristics in all Kekta serials.

  • All scenes are shot in slow-motion, making me wonder why they can’t speak in slow motion!
  • The camera will zoom in on each character from all directions.
  • All characters will be ‘standing’ at the time of something important.
  • The most dreadful scene of each episode will happen when all characters of the household are either having their lunch/dinner or are having a group-chat session.
  • There will be at least one vamp in each serial.
  • The vamp’s age/hairdo will not change even over a 20 year leap.
  • Oh, not only the vamp, but almost all characters follow the same path!

Nimmo follows this same path. And one more thing that I have started to wonder is that why do these serial-makers (killers) create their stories based on Gujarati families? That ’20 year jump multiplied by 3’ saga a.k.a. Kyunki… was the first one to be based on a Gujju family. Well, actually before that Ek Mahal Ho Sapno Ka was also based on Gujju family (this serial was initially good but became boring as it went on). Khichdi was a funny take on a stupid Gujju family, Sarabhai had a Gujju background but it was too funny really. Now there is weirdo serial on Sony that’s on a Gujju background and finally Nimmo.

To further drift away from topic, I want to ask madam Kekta Kapoor whats the secret of Ba’s energy at 104 years of age! My grandmother is in her mid-80s and she looks really old, but Ba of Kyunki fame looks like 69 going on 70.

And now coming back to Nimmo, it’s an achievement for me for the way I endured those 20 minutes of this serial without uttering a single pearl of wisdom! (When I say pearl of wisdom I really mean criticism). Grandmother said beta aam khao, and yes I did start eating that delicious mango kept in front of me. Maybe that kept my mouth busy; else I would have spoken and made Nimmo look worse than the sluts of some other Kekta serials. Yeah, I call them sluts because some of those weirdo characters got married to 2 or 3 or maybe even more men.

Let me predict the future of the story of Nimmo. In a few weeks time, she will be pregnant and will declare to her husband main tumhaare bachche ki maa banne waali hoon. Both will forget their contract marriage and live happily ever after. Only thing is, that in Kekta Kapoor serials there is no such thing like living happily ever after. So, she will super-fast-forward this serial some 20 years and then Nimmo daughter will grow up to become a Kimmo and her love story will start all over again. Meanwhile Nimmo’s husband will have 2 extra-marital affairs and 1 other wife, who will bear him an illegitimate son who will grow up 20 years later and return to fight for his haq in the Nimmo family.

Wah! Kya story likhi hai. I should be the scriptwriter of this serial.


Actions

Information

2 responses

5 07 2006
Crime Master Gogo

This girl looks interesting? Really? Okay, you can write a review about her.😛

Portugal will lose, then France will lose and !taly will be the champions! Italy rulez!

5 07 2006
Teny

these serials r bad, so mr.vampire quit them :d

and i demand u stop everyone from watching it, or i will complain to vasco-da-game uncle :p

but this girl looks interestin..lol…

Leave a Reply

