Why should I write a blog? I really don’t know. Th…

16 08 2005
Why should I write a blog? I really don’t know. The dictionary that I have with me is an old one, published in 1992 and obviously, it doesn’t have the meaning of blog. So let me try to write a meaning of a blog by myself. I would describe a blog as random ramblings, something that I can write just for the heck of it, or maybe random thoughts that I just want to pen down. I don’t know maybe it can have a few more meanings but let’s just say that these are the ways that I will define a blog.I actually cannot think of a topic to write a blog about. But still I am writing. Why? Well, this blog is just for time pass. I am just killing time by writing this blog. How did I get into blogging? A friend recently said to me – When you have nothing to do on the net, just read blogs. Hmm, that’s what he does, but should I also do? I thought of giving it a try and that’s what I did sometime last month. I knew of 4 blog portals – Blogger, Yahoo! 360, MSN Spaces and Rediffblogs. And I already had an account of each of them, although none of them was used even once. With a little bit of research, I found that blogger is the most happening of these 4 portals and I chose to start with it. I logged in to my account, read a few blogs, thought of writing one, but didn’t know what to write about. Then it hit upon me that I can write about astrology, a thing that I have always hated in my life. I wrote about it in my last blog.

But then what should I do now? Can I write more blogs? Thanks to Mouthshut, I know that I can write well enough. The added advantage of blogging is that there are no restrictions on blogger which exist on MouthShut. I can write just about anything and everything. A brief comparison between blogging and mouthshut told me that I can continue to write on Mouthshut as I have been doing for the last one year but I will use blogs to express my thoughts on things and topics that cannot be a part of mouthshut.

I know that there are a lot of problems associated with mouthshut, but still I like to write on it. It gives me happiness as I get to interact with people there and their varied responses are sometimes difficult to reply. I like that, and I am being honest. I have a lot to talk about and mouthshut has given a mouthpiece to my thoughts. Today was a happy day for me as I wrote my 50th review and have got a good response from mouthshut members. But blogging is different. There are things and topics that cannot be added to the mouthshut database, for obvious reasons as well, and I have random thoughts about them too. It is for this reason that I have started liking blogging.

For instance, my last blog was about astrology and its various aspects. After giving it a lot of thought, I realized that it cannot be added to the mouthshut database. That’s why I wrote a blog on it. The added advantage was that I was able to write a much longer blog than what I could have written on mouthshut. Plus, there is the added advantage of having privacy in that I can hide my blog from public view, but I cannot hide my review (of mouthshut) from public view.

Even while blogging, I run out of ideas. One moment I had like 10 topics hovering in various corners of my mind but as soon as I sat down to key them down, I lost all the thoughts. That happens a lot. Mind wanders all over. Even as I write this blog, my mind wandered back to 1998, as I remembered going to PVR Anupam (Multiplex) with my friends to watch Kuch Kuch hota Hai (A Bollywood movie). I just recalled the fun we had extracting Rs. 250 out of one guy who was late for the show and we nearly managed to miss it thanks to him.

My mind again wanders back to PVR Anupam, although the year has changed to 1999, as I recall myself and some of my friends ogling at girls from a nearby college. I really can’t do much about my mind; it has a tendency to wander everywhere. It is still wandering, as I listen to a sad song at midnight on a local FM radio station. But then let’s just say that these are meaningless random ramblings. To be honest, I don’t know why I should write it and go to the extent of posting it on blogger.com

Another random thought – just moments ago, I heard on the radio that Indian hockey team has lost a match to world champions Germany. No wonder, our sports teams are hilarious. In fact, we Indians are really hilarious. We go to the Olympics, Asian games, the Commonwealth games and fail to win medals. We play Cricket, the country goes crazy about it, and we end up losing to just about everyone on planet, including club-class teams like Zimbabwe and Bangladesh. And yet, we hail our sportsmen, calling them heroes. When they win, we raise them to cult status and when they lose, we dig their graveyards. And at the end of the day we believe in the Olympic philosophy – that victory and loss are part of the game, and we must not give a thought to it. Given the competitive nature of world sports, we must stop thinking on those lines and start looking at our sporting resources in a more positive way so as to achieve some good results.


Just random thoughts!

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 02 2006
Jasmine Ahujahttp://www.mouthshut.com/user/jasmine.html

My name is Jasmine Ahuja and I am the head of member relations at Mouthshut.com

I read your ramblings about mouthshut. while mouthshut is not a general blog, we were the first to introduce the concept of writing on web in INdia. I appreciate all your suggestions and please know that mouthshut.com is doing a major upgrade to its systems.

the new mouthshut.com will have all that you want and more.

jasmine

23 08 2005
Crime Master Gogo

Thanks Pras, for the comments. This is my first shot at blogging. Lets see how far I can go on it.

Cheers,
Anuj

22 08 2005
No Einstine HuH

Yeah True

Blogging so far can be taken as random ramblings on any issue of your choice, without much restrictions like MS.

Shatter more keys…
Pras

Leave a Reply

